The WOW Factor

What makes you say WOW???

I asked a patient of mine the other day, “Do you have anything in your life that makes you say WOW?” She stared at me for a few moments. “No. I don’t” she replied. I also asked her what her goals of therapy were and was there anything in her life that she wanted to change. Again, blank stare… no answer. Not all the patients I treat are clinically depressed, but the common thread seems to be that they are not happy. And deeply, so deeply afraid of change.

There was a recent P.B.S. Series called “Happiness” where celebrities were interviewed on their thoughts on the subject. My favorite reply came from the brilliant Larry David (of Seinfeld and Curb Your Enthusiasm fame). He said that happiness in life is dependent on having a job that you love and having regular sex. Pretty simply, huh?

Let’s start with the job situation – most people, especially in the United States have a job that allows them to pay their rent / mortgage and buy more stuff. Do most people like their job?  Having a job gives one a social outlet and a sense of accomplishment, but do you LOVE what you do? Do you drive to your workplace, happy, excited, with boundless energy to dive into your work? If you are just working to make money to buy more stuff… is stuff the key to your happiness? STUFF…that you need to maintain, clean, fix, etc. The Dali Lama would say this thought process in one that weighs one down… disconnects you from what is really important in life.

What did you want to be when you grow up? Are you there? I don’t recommend completely growing up… but I do recommend finding a passion in life and finding a way to make that your life’s work. Recognizing your talents, skills and making them work for you. If you are in a job that you hate, and find yourself stressing about this job when you are not even there… why are you still working there every day? Yes, I know our current economy is disastrous. I have many, well educated, brilliant friends that are currently unemployed due to the current economic conditions.  Perhaps using networking your creativity to make your passion your work, instead of Monster.com can prove something to change your life for the better.

I often use the example of a very dear friend of mine who a few years ago was living in New Orleans and working as a graphic designer. He did not like his job, at all. And along came Hurricane Katrina, which wiped out homes, hopes and dreams. My friend lost most of the material possessions he owned, but through his disaster, he found his passion. He began to take pictures of the damage from the flood. He moved his life to Baltimore, made countless friends and found the thing that made him say WOW, to be his life’s work. Today he is one of the busiest and wickedly talented photographers in Baltimore.

So, friends, what makes you say WOW? Do you love what you do? Are you simply working in a job so you can make more money to buy more stuff? Is that all there is to life? Would love to hear your comments.

Oh, and as for Larry David’s comments on sex and being in a supportive relationship… to be addressed in the next installment.

Be happy and healthy!!!

About alexhewett

Psychotherapist, Actor, Mother, Writer,Teacher, Yogi, Optimist, Creative Soul, Dreamer, always striving to let my inner goddess shine...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The WOW Factor

  1. Kyle says:

    Well, I have to say that I have both. (a job i love, a man i adore, and the best sex ever) I have watched my annual salary decrease through my adulthood, as I have found myself more and more happy in the life that I live. I guess that I was never taught to take a job for the money- always for the work- as a way to give my life meaning. and this new job is EXCELLENT!

  2. Typically, I am compelled to say WOW when in the presence of blatant stupidity. For example, I often find myself exclaiming “WOW!!!!” when I witness grammatical and spelling errors that really should not be an issue for anyone over the age of 10. Alas, full blown adults who have, shockingly, managed to acquire high school diplomas and/or college degrees will type sentences like this: “Their is a new cote I relay want at Nordstroms, but its like ecspensive as shit. I’mma bout to go to my boss and be all like your gonna have to pay me more cuz I want this cote alot!” Things like that never cease to elicit a fervent WOW from me… but I am fairly certain that is not the same type of WOW you were referring to.

    In related news, I am 100% dissatisfied with my current job as far as the type of work is concerned, but I am 100% satisfied with making fun of all the dumb stuff that happens at my job because it never fails to get a laugh from others= good enough?????

Leave a Reply

