The Challenge: LIFE

Monday September 20th, 2010, today, is the first day of the 60-day challenge of my Bikram Yoga studio.  Yoga every day… or at least 6 days a week…  The goal is to challenge one’s body to the maximum test… Well, my goal has been slightly derailed, since this weekend I underwent an emergency appendectomy, and am now limited in my physical activities and overall daily life.  But I keep in mind this is a temporary setback.

The practice of Bikram Yoga, I often explain to people transcends far beyond the 11o degree heated room and 26 poses, that take a grueling 1 1/2 hours to complete.  It is a practice that you can relate to life… this practice gives strength of mind and body, serves as a chiropractic adjustment, facial, sauna, psychotherapy session, religious experience, a practice in patience and self love as you watch your sweaty, barely clothed body transform in the foggy mirrors in front of you.  Between each pose you have a savasana (Sanscrit for dead body pose or rest).  Perhaps in life we need to take a rest / breather in between completing tasks, appreciate them.. soak in the benefits.  You are encouraged to stand absolutely still in this dead body pose, not to wipe the sweat that is burning your eyes, or to adjust  the shorts that are now hugging your body in an unflattering or uncomfortable manner.  But to stand still… sometimes in life stillness in thought and action can prove more beneficial that rapid fire thoughtless action.  In stillness we can gain strength, respect, poise, grace….  In the stillness we heal, we learn, we recharge, we grow.

“Yoga is  a gas station” is a phrase I often hear a Bikram instructor say…  This world moves very fast.. I am told I move very fast… not sure if I am running toward something or running away… perhaps a bit of both.

As I enter the world of blogging, I hope to incorporate my world as a psychotherapist, actor, teacher and mother in learning what I find, and finding what I learn from myself and others.

Namaste!

About alexhewett

Psychotherapist, Actor, Mother, Writer,Teacher, Yogi, Optimist, Creative Soul, Dreamer, always striving to let my inner goddess shine...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Challenge: LIFE

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Heather McPeters says:

    Go, go, go! I’m so excited for you as you begin this literary and life journey. Blessed be!

Leave a Reply

